Ukraine, Norway, Montenegro and Albania extend sanctions against Russia

The High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, Federica Mogherini announced that Ukraine, Montenegro, Albania and Norway have aligned themselves with the European Union's decision to extend sanctions against the Russian Federation. European Union imposed these sanctions due to the violation of the territorial integrity of Ukraine.

In September, these four countries supported the European Union Council’s decision, which extended the restrictions on Russia until March 15, 2019.

"The Candidate Countries Montenegro* and Albania*, and the EFTA country Norway, member of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, align themselves with this declaration," said the statement.

"They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision. The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it," - said the declaration.

In September the EU Council extended restrictive measures against Russia for half a year due to its actions that undermine or threaten the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine. These sanctions affect 155 individuals and 44 organizations. Individual sanctions include freezing of individual and legal entities assets in the European Union and imposing a ban on travel to EU countries.

  Russia, Norway, EU, Sanctions on Russia, Ukraine