PACE recognizes 'Russian occupation of Donbas'

Evropeyskaya Pravda reports that the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) has formally adopted a decision recognizing "the occupation of certain regions of the Donetsk and Luhansk regions by the Russian Federation".

This recognition is contained in a resolution titled “State of Emergency", concerning derogations occurring under Article 15 of the European Convention on Human Rights. At present, three countries have used this option: Ukraine (after the attack by the Russian Federation), France (after the terrorist attacks) and Turkey (after the coup attempt).

During considerations of the Ukrainian case, the Assembly nearly unanimously agreed to support two amendments confirming that the uncontrolled territories of the Donetsk and Luhansk regions are "temporarily occupied territories controlled by the Russian administration".

Between 98 and 100 deputies voted in favor of the two corresponding amendments, while 3-4 deputies voted against them.

The Parliamentarians who voted against the amendments are affiliated with pro-Russian forces; these pro-Russian factions include the German Left and Alternative for Germany parties, as well as the Netherlands Socialist Party.

In the resolution, PACE also confirmed its condemnation of Russian aggression against Ukraine, which was committed in violation of international humanitarian law and the principles of the Council of Europe.

  PACE, Russian occupation, Donbas, Ukraine