Switzerland imposed sanctions against Russian deputies elected in the Crimea

Switzerland has expanded its list of people who will not be able to bypass the US and EU sanctions imposed because of aggression by the Russian Federation in Ukraine, according to the Swiss state secretariat for economic affairs.

The names of six people who were recently elected as deputies of the State Duma of the Russian Federation in the Crimea and Sevastopol were added to the list.

“On November 17, 2016, the Federal Department of Economics, Education and Research (EAER) amended the list of persons, which accompanies the decree on measures preventing the circumvention of international sanctions in connection with the situation in Ukraine,” the statement says.

The changes took effect from the date of publication of the document.

The European Union added the deputies of the State Duma elected in the Crimea to the list of people and entities that are subject to sanctions for the violation of the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine.

Later these same people were included on the sanctions list from the United States.

  Switzerland, Ukraine, Russia, Crimea, Elections, Duma, Sanctions