Russia to allow indefinite stay for residents of separatist-held territories of Ukraine

Russia has removed the restrictions on the length of time which citizens of the separatist-held territories of the Donetsk and Luhansk provinces are permitted to spend in Russia, the press service of the Russian MP Konstantin Zatulin announced.

Zatulin said that as a result of persistent requests, a special instruction from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs had been distributed to the Russian migration authorities.

“An additional instruction has been circulated not to extend migration records rule 90/180 to Ukrainian citizens arriving from LPR (Luhansk People’s Republic)/DPR Donetsk People’s Republic) territory,” the MP announced.

For most foreign citizens and persons without citizenship who can come to Russia without a visa, the duration of stay in the country is restricted to no more than 90 consecutive days, and no more than 90 days every 180 days in the year.

Earlier the “privileges” for residents of the self-declared LPR and DPR were removed in the annexed Crimea. Residents of the separatist-held territories of Ukraine regions were equated with foreigners.

  LPR, DPR, Donbas, Russia