Ukraine imposes new sanctions on Russia

Ukrainian President Petro Poroshenko has enacted a decision by the National Security and Defense Council (NSDC) from 19 March 2019 “On the use, revocation and introduction of amendments to the personal special economic and other restrictive measures (sanctions)”.

Sanctions have been placed on 294 legal and 848 physical entities, among them Oleksandr Yanukovych’s MAKO Holding, EN+ Group and a number of companies linked to Oleg Deripaska, and the companies Power Machines and Stroytransgaz.

The list also includes companies that were involved in the construction of the Crimean Bridge, a number of Crimean museums, as well as companies and resorts in Crimea that were previously controlled by Ukraine and its citizens (including Petro Poroshenko’s Sevastopol Shipyard and MP Kostyantyn Zhevago’s Zalyv Shipbuilding Yard).

For the first time, Ukrainian sanctions were placed on Russian and individual companies from Slovakia, Poland, Finland, Luxembourg, Cyprus that were already under US and Canadian sanctions.

A separate group consists of 11 Russian publishing houses and online magazines.

The sanctions also target the Ukrainian subsidiaries of the Russian state banks Sberbank, VEB and VTB, which are banned from withdrawing capital to associated entities for two years. The last time such sanctions were imposed on them by a presidential decree was on 6 March 2018 for a period of one year.

The new sanctions will also affect the All-Russia State Television and Radio Broadcasting Company and its offices in Kyiv.

At the same time, the NSDC excluded a number of companies from the president’s previous decree on 21 June 2018 – Transnistria’s largest company, the Moldovan Metallurgical Plant, as well as a number of other companies: Good Drill, Rems Eksim, Rusvneshtorg, Prokhlada-3M, MayBel, Aston Food Products and Food Ingredients, PKF Port Korvet (all three in Rostov-on-Don).

  Russia, Ukraine, Poroshenko, National Security and Defense Council, Yanukovych, Europe, Kyiv