Russia introduces embargo on Ukrainian salt

On Tuesday, September 13, Russia added salt to the list of foods prohibited from import into its territory as part of a food embargo, Interfax reports. The relevant resolution of the Russian government was published on the legal information portal of the Russian Federation. The restrictions take effect on November 1, 2016, and apply to Ukraine as well.

Traditionally, the Ukrainian company Artyomsol was a major supplier of Russia’s salt. The import of its products into the Russian Federation was previously banned from January 2015 to May 2016. Then the supply was restored although with certain restrictions. According to the company, in May and July 2016 it exported to Russia 329,000 tons of salt, of which 16,000 tons was edible salt.

Russia introduced the food embargo on August 7, 2014, in response to Western sanctions imposed on the country after the annexation of the Crimea. The embargo applies to meat, fish, milk, fruits, vegetables and some other products. The ban applies to the countries that support the anti-Russian sanctions: United States, Australia, Norway, Canada, Albania, Montenegro, Iceland, Liechtenstein and EU member states. Ukraine was added to this list on January 1, 2016.

On June 29 the Russian food trade restrictions imposed on countries that have introduced sanctions against Russia were extended until the end of 2017.

  Ukraine, Russia, food embargo