NATO air defense exercises begin in Slovakia

The international Tobruq Legacy 2016 exercises began on Monday at the Lest training area in Slovakia. The air defense units of eight NATO countries are participating in the exercises. The countries involved are Slovakia, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Lithuania, Latvia, Poland, Slovenia and the US. This was reported by the press service of the Czech Ministry of Defense.

“The goal of the exercises is to test and strengthen the level of interaction of ground air defense units in accordance with NATO standards,” the statement said.

The Slovakian Ministry of Defense only reported on the transfer of troops and equipment to the location of the exercises adding that “at the moment, for security reasons, it is impossible to publish more information about the exercises”.

The exercises will continue until the 30th of September.

  NATO, exercises, Slovakia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Lithuania, Latvia, Poland