Lithuania announces implementation of Savchenko sanctions list

Lithuania is the first country in the European Union that barred individuals related to the conviction of Ukrainian pilot Nadiya Savchenko from entering its territory. This information was confirmed by Lithuanian Foreign Minister Linas Linkevičius.

“Specifically, it concerns Russian judges and prosecutors who directly participated in the trials. At the moment, 46 people are prohibited from entering Lithuania,” Linkevičius told BNS, adding that the list is expanding. Besides the “Savchenko list”, individuals related to the conviction of film maker Oleg Sentsov and human rights defender Alexander Kolchenko, have also been banned from Lithuania.

“We do not acknowledge these cases that, in our view, are falsified. These individuals—judges, prosecutors, and some other leaders of the self-proclaimed Republics, Donetsk and Luhansk—were added to the list,” Linkevičius told Elta during a phone interview.

According to the Minister, they hope that Lithuania’s initiative will encourage other countries and the EU to follow its example. Lithuania and four more EU countries introduced this idea to the High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, Federica Mogherini.

“Our goal is to make this a common action throughout the Schengen Area,” Linkevičius said. He proposed to Mogherini to announce such a list for the whole EU. However, the initiative has not yet found support. Linkevičius said that this decision can be made later as far as the situation with Savchenko is being discussed by the European diplomats.

“The matter of Savchenko is a top priority, especially after her health deteriorated,” the Minister said.

  Lithuania, Ukraine, Savchenko, Russia