Putin dismisses several heads of state departments

By decree, President Vladimir Putin has dismissed several heads of the structural divisions of the Russian Investigative Committee (IC), Ministry of Internal Affairs (MIA) and Federal Penitentiary Service (FSIN). The relevant document was published on the official legal information web portal.

Among those dismissed were Alexei Mayakov, head of the IC department for the Leningrad region, Vladimir Romanyuk, deputy head of the MIA head office for the Sverdlovsk region, as well as Anatoly Tikhomirov, head of the FSIN department for the Moscow region.

Furthermore, Prosecutor for the Western Siberian Transport department, Sergey Feoktistov was also relieved of his duty.

As reported by the Russian newspaper “Argumenty i Fakty” with reference to sources in the law enforcement agencies, Deputy MIA Head Vladimir Romanyuk was prepared for his dismissal, waiting for the president’s decree. According to the publication, he will hold the position of head of the security services in one of the federal banks. However, the web site Znak.com reports “a position in one of the close state financial-industrial groups”.

According to Life publication, FSIN Head of Department for the Moscow region Anatoly Tikhomirov was advised to leave his position as the director of the department by Gennady Kornienko. The publication’s source explained that this was related to accusations of corruption. “Novaya Gazeta” wrote that as the FSIN’s Head of Department for the Moscow region, Tikhomirov received a subsidy of 27.7 million rubles for his apartment, although he already had an apartment.

Life specified that Colonel Andrey Novikov, Tikhomirov’s subordinate, will be the acting head of the FSIN for the Moscow region. Novikov currently supervises security at the investigative isolator and the correctional facilities in the Moscow region.

According to the Krasnoyarsk publication Newslab, Sergey Feoktistov, who was the Western Siberian Prosecutor for transport, has worked for the supervisory authorities since 1992. He held his position for 10 years.