Washington publishes 'Kremlin list' targeting Russian elite

The US Treasury Department submitted to the Congress a list of 114 Russian politicians, government officials and businessmen included in the so-called “Kremlin Report”. The “Kremlin report” includes Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev, his deputies and other members of Russian government.

The list also includes First Deputy Prime Minister Igor Shuvalov, Deputy Prime Ministers Sergey Prikhodko, Alexander Khloponin, Vitaly Mutko, Arkady Dvorkovich, Olga Golodets, Dmitry Kozak and Dmitry Rogozin, and other 22 ministers.  Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov and Defense Minister Sergey Shoygu have also been included on the list.

Several members of the administration of Russian President Putin found themselves on the “Kremlin list”. These are Presidential Administration Chief Anton Vaino, Kremlin Spokesman Dmitry Peskov some other senior members of the administration. The list also includes Kremlin aides, presidential advisers and representatives to Russian federal regions.

Among other Russian leaders on list are Federation Council (upper house) Speaker Valentina Matviyenko, State Duma (lower house) Speaker Vyacheslav Volodin, General Staff Chief Valery Gerasimov, Moscow Mayor Sergey Sobyanin, Prosecutor General Yury Chaika, and head of the Investigative Committee Alexander Bastrykin.

The head of the Presidential Council for Civil Society and Human Rights Mikhail Fedotov, Russian business ombudsman Boris Titov and Presidential Commissioner for Children’s Rights Anna Kuznetsova are also on the Kremlin List.

 The heads of major state corporations, including Gazprom CEO Alexei Miller, Rosneft CEO Igor Sechin, Sberbank CEO German Gref, Russian Railways Director General Oleg Belozerov and others are on the list as well.

In addition, the US Department of the Treasury has put 96 names on the list of the so-called Russian oligarchs. Among them are businessmen Alisher Usmanov, Roman Abramovich, Suleiman Kerimov and also Kaspersky Lab founder Eugene Kaspersky, Pyotr Aven and Vladimir Potanin. The list also includes Arkady and Boris Rotenberg, Gennady Timchenko and Oleg Tinkov.

The list was created based on the Countering America’s Adversaries Through Sanctions Act of 2017 (CAATSA).

The US Treasury Department stated that the list does not assume an introduction of sanctions.

According to the US Treasury, no restrictions are imposed on the people on this list.


  Kremlin report, Russia, US