Ukraine calls on Russia to withdraw its troops from Georgia

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Ukraine called on Russia to withdraw its troops from the occupied territories of Georgia (Abkhazia and the Tskhinvali Region), according to a statement released by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs on the occasion of the 10th anniversary of Russia-Georgia was 2018.

Ukraine reaffirmed its support for the independence, sovereignty and territorial integrity of Georgia within its internationally recognized borders, as well as its commitment to strategic partnership between the two states. In particular, Ukraine supports the recent initiative of the Georgian government, “Step to a Better Future”, aimed at giving a solution to the conflict and reconciliation.

 “We call on the Russian Federation to fulfill its obligations under the Ceasefire Agreement of August 12, 2008, withdraw its military forces from the occupied territories of Georgia (Abkhazia and the Tskhinvali Region), and implement other measures to demilitarize and de-occupy these territories,” the statement said.

"Ukraine believes that Russia bears full responsibility for the complex humanitarian situation in the occupied territories and must immediately ensure the unhindered access of international humanitarian and human rights organizations to these territories," the statement continues.

As a result of the Russia-Georgia war in 2008, Russia recognized the independence of two Georgian regions, Abkhazia and South Ossetia, and moved additional troops and weapons to its military bases in these territories.

Tbilisi severed diplomatic relations with Moscow in August 2008 after Russia recognized the sovereignty of Abkhazia and South Ossetia - the two autonomous regions that were part of Georgia and sought independence from it even before the collapse of the USSR. The European Union also does not recognize the independence of South Ossetia and Abkhazia, declaring support for the territorial integrity and sovereignty of Georgia.

The legal status of South Ossetia as an independent republic was recognized by only five states - Russia, Venezuela, Nicaragua, Nauru, and Tuvalu.

In March 2015, Russian President Vladimir Putin and the head of the unrecognized South Ossetia, Leonid Tibilov, signed an agreement on cooperation and integration. In March 2017, the Russian government approved an agreement on the inclusion of the military of South Ossetia in the Russian army.

  Russia, Georgia, Russian troops, South Ossetia, Abkhazia