Ten NATO members will deploy forces to Eastern Europe

At least ten NATO member states have pledged to contribute soldiers to the alliance’s four multinational battalions in the Baltic States and Poland.

Speaking to reporters following a meeting of the alliance’s defense ministers in Brussels, NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg announced that Albania, Italy, Poland, and Slovenia agreed to contribute to the battalion stationed in Latvia, where a Canadian contingent is already located; Belgium, Croatia, France, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, and Norway agreed to send their soldiers to join a German unit in Lithuania; Denmark and France will send their forces to Estonia where UK troops have already been deployed; and Romanian and UK soldiers will join the US contingent in Poland.

The Secretary General also announced that Germany, the Netherlands, Canada, Poland, Turkey and the United States are willing to participate in the strengthening of NATO's military presence in the Black Sea region.

Stoltenberg made it clear that NATO’s actions in Eastern Europe are measures taken due to the threat posed by Russia.

  NATO, Russia


Please visit out Twitter account for updates on the situation in Ukraine.