Russia widens agricultural sanctions against Turkey

On Wednesday, Russia expanded agricultural sanctions against Turkey, Radio Svoboda reported. According to the Russian Federal Service for Veterinary and Phytosanitary Surveillance, Rosselkhoznadzor, Turkish pomegranates and sweet peppers were added to the list of banned Turkish products. The agency emphasized that this includes all pomegranates and sweet peppers originating from Turkey, regardless of where the products were shipped from.

"Rosselkhoznadzor introduces on March 17 temporary restrictions on imports, including through third countries, of pepper and pomegranates produced in Turkey," the agency said in a statement.

The agency claims that these products do not meet Russian food safety standards.

Relations between Moscow and Ankara have deteriorated significantly following the downing of a Russian Su-24 front line bomber by a Turkish F-16 fighter over the Syrian-Turkish border in November of last year.

Russia imposed agricultural sanctions against Turkey starting January 1st. The sanctions list includes oranges, tangerines, grapes, apples, pears, apricots, peaches, plums, strawberries, tomatoes, cucumbers, onions, and cauliflower, as well as several meat and poultry products

  Russia, turkey, Sanctions