Ministries of 19 countries issue appeal to World Anti-Doping Agency to ban Russia from the Olympics

The Ministers of Culture and Sport of 19 European countries have issued a statement in support of the fight against doping. They have also demanded that Russia be suspended from all international competitions, including the upcoming Olympic Games in Rio.

According to Western media, this collective statement was addressed to the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA).

The statement was initiated by the Minister of Culture and Sport of Denmark, Bertel Haarder. He received support from officials of Belgium, Bulgaria, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Ireland, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, the UK, the Czech Republic and Austria.

It was also reported that the International Olympic Committee had formed a special committee of three members. They are authorized to make the final decision on the admission of Russian athletes to the Olympics in 2016.

It was previously reported that the Russian weightlifting national team was banned from the Olympic Games. The same fate awaited Russia’s track and field athletes, and Russia’s swimmers.

  the world, Russia, Doping