Canada imposes additional sanctions against Russia

Canada imposed additional sanctions on ten Russian companies and two Russian citizens. This information was posted on the website of the Government of Canada on Friday, March 18th.

The Canadian sanctions list includes Inserbank, Mosoblbank, Volgogradneftemash, Izhevsk Mechanical Plant (IMZ), Izhmash, Tekhnopromexport, Tehmash, Roselektroniks, the holding company Schwabe that is a part of Rostec, and Tekhnopromexport.

The Deputy CEO of Kalashnikov, Edward Joffe, and Chief Export Officer Alexander Omelchenko, were also included in a list.

Additional sanctions were imposed by Canada to "increase the pressure on Russia to make it comply with the Minsk Agreements and to demonstrate our non-recognition of the illegal annexation of Crimea by Russia."

"Sanctions will not be removed until Russia fulfills the Minsk Agreements," stated Canadian Foreign Minister Stéphane Dion.

On July 29th, 2015, the US extended the list of sanctions against Russia. IMZ and Izhmash also came under US sanctions.

  Canada, Russia, Sanctions