Armenia, Georgia, Iran and Russia sign energy memorandum

Russia, Armenia, Georgia and Iran have signed a roadmap on the preparation of collaboration of power supply systems of the four countries in Yerevan, and also agreed on a memorandum of mutual understanding and cooperation in the sphere of energy.

RIA Novosti reports that the documents were signed by the Minister of Energy of the Russian Federation, Alexander Novak, the Minister of Energy and Natural Resources of Armenia, Levon Yolyan, the Minister of Energy of Iran, Hamid Chitchian and the Deputy Minister of Energy of Georgia, Ilia Eloshvili.

Novak reported after a meeting with the Minister of Energy of Iran that the parties were conducting negotiations on the project of connecting the two countries with the power supply network. It was supposed that the power lines could pass through Armenia and Georgia.

In December of last year, Armenia, Georgia, Iran and Russia signed a quadrilateral memorandum providing increases of the level of management of mutual power interchange and of safety and reliability of power supply systems. The memorandum specifies a planned number of actions aimed at the creation of a North-South electrical power corridor that will give an opportunity to work with power supply systems of EEU and the EU.

The deputy minister of Energy and natural resources of Armenia, Areg Galstyan, declared that Armenia, Iran, Georgia and Russia will arrange the North-South power corridor which will allow the transit of electricity in a quadrilateral format.

  Russia, Georgia, Armenia, Iran