Five countries join in EU sanctions against Russia

Montenegro, Albania, Norway, Ukraine, and Georgia have joined the EU sanctions imposed against Russia due to the annexation of the Crimea which are in effect until June 23rd, 2019, said the High Representative of the European Union, Federica Mogherini.

“The Candidate Countries Montenegro and Albania, and the EFTA country Norway, member of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and Georgia align themselves with this Declaration. They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision”, the statement reads. Mogherini stated that the European Union, in turn, takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

As reported, on June 18th the EU Council extended sanctions against Russia for the annexation of the Crimea until the 23rd of June 2019.

Also, the EU intends to impose sanctions against 6 people involved in the construction of the Kerch Bridge.

In 2016, the USA put seven Russian companies connected with the construction of the Kerch Bridge on sanctions list.

In July 2017, Russia, in violation of sanctions, delivered gas turbines manufactured by German concern Siemens to the Crimea. This led the EU imposing additional sanctions against Russia.

  Russia, Sanctions, EU, crimea


Please visit out Twitter account for updates on the situation in Ukraine.