EU extends sanctions against Crimea for another year

The EU Council has decided to extended sanctions against the Crimea and Sevastopol for one more year, TASS reports, citing an unnamed member of the EU parliament.

This decision was made during a meeting in Luxemburg of the Ministers of Agriculture and Fisheries from 28 EU countries.

On May 14, the EU Council imposed sanctions against the Crimea’s Deputy Chairman of the Election Commission Inna Guzeeva, and Secretary Natalia Bezruchenko; the Council additionally imposed sanctions against the Chairman of the Sevastopol Election Committee Alexander Petukhov, Deputy Chairman Miroslav Pogorelov, and Secretary Anastasia Kapranova.

  Sanctions on Russia, Crimea, EU