Estonia bans entry to 49 individuals from 'Magnitsky list'

The Government of Estonia approved Minister of Foreign Affairs Sven Mikser’s proposal to prohibit 49 individuals from the so-called “Magnistky list” from entering the country, as reported on the website of the Estonian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Individuals involved in serious violations of human rights, including the death of anti-corruption lawyer Sergei Magnitsky, will be banned from entering Estonia. “The unity and government’s resolve in this matter show our commitment to pay attention to the increasing number of violations of international law committed in Russia,” Mikser said.

“We cannot fail to respond to human rights violations. Estonia takes human rights very seriously, and we would also like to send this message to our allies. We should all respond to attempts to undermine the world order. As such, we contribute to our security,” Mikser stated. As reported earlier, Lithuania banned 44 Russian citizens from entering the country.

  Estonia, Magnitsky List


Please visit out Twitter account for updates on the situation in Ukraine.