Denmark is ready to join the boycott of 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia

Representatives of the Danish authorities are likely to join the diplomatic boycott of the 2018 World Cup in Russia, DR Nyheder reports.

Representative of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Denmark Michael Aastrup Jensen said that members of the royal family and other government officials will join the UK and Iceland in not attending the matches of the world championship held in Russia.

"It will be difficult for Danish officials to go to Russia for this football festival. I do not think we can talk about the refusal to go by the national team, but all the rest must stay at home and watch the World Cup 2018 on TV," the diplomat said.

Earlier, it was reported that officials of the six countries intend to boycott the 2018 World Cup to be held in Russia. As reported by The Sun, a governmental boycott is planned by officials from Great Britain, Iceland, Poland, Sweden, Australia and Japan.

Team Denmark will play France, Australia and Peru in the group stage of the World Cup. This annual, international sporting event will be held from June 14 to July 15, 2018 in Russia.

The matches will be hosted by Moscow, St. Petersburg, Kaliningrad, Volgograd, Kazan, Nizhny Novgorod, Samara, Saransk, Rostov-on-Don, Yekaterinburg and Sochi.

  World Cup, Denmark, boycott