Ukraine imposes new sanctions against Russia

The National Security and Defense Council of Ukraine (NSDC) released an updated list of personal special economic sanctions and additional restrictive measures against Russia on May 2. These new measures were backed by a Decree of the President released on May 14, which appeared on the President’s website.

The list includes 1,748 individuals and 756 legal entities. One year ago, sanctions targeted 1,228 individuals and 468 legal entities.

During the meeting of the NSDC on May 2, it was decided to bring Ukrainian sanctions against Russia in line with the decisions of the United States and European Union governments.

Ukraine’s Cabinet of Ministers, Security Service, and National Bank initiated the introduction of new sanctions against individuals and legal entities involved in Russian aggression against Ukraine. The sanctions target individuals who prepared and facilitated voting during the Russian presidential elections in annexed Crimea.

Additionally, the sanctions effect representatives of the Russian administration in the Crimea, militants of Russian armed groups in the annexed territory of the Donetsk and Luhansk regions, and individuals involved in cyber-aggression against Ukraine and those who commit unlawful actions against Ukrainian citizens illegally held in Russia. Deputies of the State Duma and members of the Federation Council of the Federal Assembly are also included on the list. The sanctions imposed in previous years have been extended; the new sanctions will last for three years or, in some cases, an indefinite term.

  Sanctions on Russia, Ukraine